

# CRJO Extraordinary Board Meeting - MINUTES

Tuesday, 30 June 2020

9:00am - 10:30am

Zoom Videoconference

Meeting ID: 931 4386 0843

Our Region...

Dynamic

Innovative

Connected

...Compelling!

# **AGENDA**

1.	Ope	ening Meeting	3
	•	come & Acknowledgement of Country	
		logies	
		ction CRJO Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson 2020-2022	
		fidential Matters	
		Appointment of Executive Officer	
5	5.2.	Consultancy Role	4
_	-		_

MEMBERS	
Bega Valley Shire Council	Mayor Sharon Tapscott
	Ms Leanne Barnes OAM
Eurobodalla Shire Council	Mayor Liz Innes
	Dr Catherine Dale
Goulburn Mulwaree Council	Mayor Bob Kirk
	Mr Warwick Bennett
Hilltops Council	Mayor Brian Ingram
	Mr Anthony O'Reilly
Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council	Mayor Tim Overall
,	Mr Peter Tegart
Snowy Monaro Regional Council	Mayor Peter Beer
	Mr Peter Bascomb
Snowy Valleys Council	Mayor James Hayes OAM
	Mr Matthew Hyde
Upper Lachlan Shire Council	Mayor John Stafford
	Ms Colleen Worthy
Wingecarribee Shire Council	Mayor Duncan Gair
	Ms Ann Prendergast
Yass Valley Council	Mayor Rowena Abbey
	Mr Chris Berry
ACT Government	Mr Sam Engele
	Dr David Clapham
East Gippsland Shire Council	Mayor John White
East Gippsland Shire Council	Mr Anthony Basford
Wagga Wagga City Council	Mayor Greg Conkey OAM
	Mr Peter Thompson
Canberra Region Joint Organisation	Ms Gabrielle Cusack
GUESTS	
Office of Local Government	Ms Elizabeth Dixon
Assistant NSW Cross Border Commissioner	Ms Emma Watts
NSW Government	Ms Heidi Stratford

## 1. Open Meeting

CRJO Chair Mayor Rowena Abbey opened the meeting at 9:05am.

# 2. Welcome & Acknowledgement of Country

The CRJO Chair acknowledged the Aboriginal Elders past and present as well as emerging leaders, and the traditional custodians of the land upon which we meet today.

# 3. Apologies

#### **RESOLVED**

That the apologies of Cr Greg Conkey OAM and Mr Sam Engele be accepted and that a leave of absence be granted.

**Moved Goulburn Mulwaree Council Seconded Wingecarribee Shire Council** 

**Carried unanimously** 

The CRJO Chair stepped down to allow the Returning Officer, Gabrielle Cusack, to presided over the elections.

## 4. Election CRJO Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson 2020-2022

The Returning Officer indicated there was one nomination for the position of CRJO Chair being Cr Rowena Abbey.

The Returning Officer called for any further nominations. There being no further nominations the Returning Officer declared Cr Rowena Abbey as the CRJO Chair.

The Returning Officer indicated there were two nominations for the position of Deputy Chair being Crs James Hayes and Liz Innes. The Returning Officer called for any further nominations. There were no further nominations. The Returning Officer invited both candidates to address the Board.

The Returning Officer sought a determination on the method of voting. The method being show of hands.

#### **RESOLVED**

That the CRJO Board undertake an open vote to elect a Deputy Chairperson for the 2020-2022 term.

**Moved Eurobodalla Shire Council Seconded Hilltops Council** 

**Carried unanimously** 

#### Voting

For Cr James Hayes	For Cr Liz Innes
Snowy Valley Council	Eurobodalla Shire Council
Yass Valley Council	Bega Valley Shire Council
Hilltops Council	Goulburn Mulwaree Council
Upper Lachlan Shire Council	
Snowy Monaro Regional Counicl	
Wingecarribee Shire Council	
Queanbeyan Palerang Regional Council	

The Returning Officer delcared Cr James Hayes elected as the Deputy Chair.

Gabrielle Cusack (Acting Executive Oficer) left the meeting at 9.15am.

## 5. Confidential Matters

#### **RESOLVED**

That the CRJO Board move into Closed Session to consider the confidential reports on the appointment of an Executive Officer and a Consultancy Role in accordance with s10A(2)(a) Local Government Act 1993 as they deal with personnel matters concerning particular individuals (other than Councillors).

**Moved Goulburn Mulwaree Council Seconded Wingecarribee Shire Council** 

**Carried unanimously** 

Closed Session commenced at 9.16am.

# 5.1. Appointment of Executive Officer

#### **RESOLVED**

That:

- 1. The report from the Chair Mayor Rowena Abbey on the Appointment of the Executive Officer be received.
- 2. The Canberra Region Joint Organisation appoint Kalina Koloff as Executive Officer on a fiveyear Standard Office of Local Government Contract of Employment for General Managers
- 3. The Chair of the Canberra Region Joint Organisation be given delegated authority to finalise and sign the Employment contract with Kalina Koloff
- 4. The Canberra Region Joint Organisation Board allow the title of Chief Executive Officer to be used for the role of Executive Officer.

Moved Hilltops Council Seconded Bega Valley Shire Council

**Carried unanimously** 

# 5.2. Consultancy Role

#### **RESOLVED**

That:

- 1. The report from the Chair Mayor Rowena Abbey on the consultancy role of Cusack Connections be received.
- 2. The Canberra Region Joint Organisation enter into a one-year contract with a one year option for renewal with Cusack Connections to undertake project work at a cost of \$40,000 plus GST per annum for 35 hours per month.
- 3. The project plan of work be defined initially by the General Managers Advisory Group, then revised and managed by the Executive Officer in liaison with GMAG.
- 4. The Chair of the Canberra Region Joint Organisation be delegated the authority to negotiate with Cusack Connections in relation to operation arrangements for continues use or disposal of the vehicle and equipment.

Moved Queanbeyan Palerang Regional Council Seconded Snowy Monaro Regional Council

**Carried unanimously** 

#### **RESOLVED**

That the CRJO Board move out of Closed Session.

**Moved Hilltops Council Seconded Wingecarribee Shire Council** 

**Carried unanimously** 

## **RESOLVED**

That the recommendations from the closed session of the CRJO Board be adopted.

**Moved Goulburn Mulwaree Council Seconded Snowy Valleys Council** 

**Carried unanimously** 

Gabrielle Cusack (Acting Executive Oficer) returned to the meeting at 9.34am.

#### **RESOLVED**

That a vote of thanks be given to Gabrielle Cusack for her service to the Canberra Region Joint Organisation.

**Moved Goulburn Mulwaree Council Seconded Snowy Valleys Council** 

**Carried unanimously** 

# 6. Close

Meeting closed at 9.35am