

CRJO Extraordinary Board Meeting

Tuesday, 30 June 2020 9:00am – 10:30am Zoom Videoconference Meeting ID: 931 4386 0843

> Our Region... Dynamic

> > Innovative

Connected

...Compelling!

AGENDA

1.	Ope	ning Meeting	3		
2.	Wel	come & Acknowledgement of Country	3		
3.	Аро	logies	3		
4.	Elec	tion CRJO Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson 2020-2022	3		
5.	Con	fidential Matters	5		
5	.1.	Appointment of Executive Officer	5		
5	.2.	Consultancy Role	5		
6.	6. Close5				

MEMBERS	
Bega Valley Shire Council	Mayor Sharon Tapscott
	Ms Leanne Barnes OAM
Eurobodalla Shire Council	Mayor Liz Innes
	Dr Catherine Dale
Goulburn Mulwaree Council	Mayor Bob Kirk
	Mr Warwick Bennett
Hilltops Council	Mayor Brian Ingram
	Mr Anthony O'Reilly
Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council	Mayor Tim Overall
	Mr Peter Tegart
Snowy Monaro Regional Council	Mayor Peter Beer
	Mr Peter Bascomb
Snowy Valleys Council	Mayor James Hayes OAM
	Mr Matthew Hyde
Upper Lachlan Shire Council	Mayor John Stafford
	Ms Colleen Worthy
Wingecarribee Shire Council	Mayor Duncan Gair
	Ms Ann Prendergast
Yass Valley Council	Mayor Rowena Abbey
	Mr Chris Berry
ACT Government	Mr Sam Engele
	Dr David Clapham
East Gippsland Shire Council	Mayor John White
	Mr Anthony Basford
Wagga Wagga City Council	Mayor Greg Conkey OAM
	Mr Peter Thompson
Canberra Region Joint Organisation	Ms Gabrielle Cusack
GUESTS	
Office of Local Government	Ms Elizabeth Dixon
NSW Cross Border Commissioner	Ms Emma Watts

1. Opening Meeting

The Returning Officer will open the meeting.

2. Welcome & Acknowledgement of Country

The Returning Officer will welcome members and make an acknowledgment of country.

3. Apologies

The Returning Officer will call for any apologies. CRJO will resolve to accept any apology and may grant leave of absence.

4. Election CRJO Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson 2020-2022

Returning Officer: Ms Gabrielle Cusack

Attachments:

- 4.1.1 Nomination Form CRJO Chairperson
- 4.1.2 Nomination Form CRJO Deputy Chairperson
- **4.1.3 Part** 2.3 Electing a Chairperson pages 13 17 of the Joint Organisation Implementation Guidance

RECOMMENDATION

That the CRJO Board undertake an open vote to elect a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson for the 2020-2022 term.

REPORT

BACKGROUND

By proclamation dated 11 May 2018, the Canberra Region Joint Organisation of Councils was created.

The first term of Chair and Deputy Chair from 2018-2020 was held by Mayor Rowena Abbey (Yass Valley Council) and Mayor Kristy McBain (Bega Valley Shire Council) respectively. In May 2020, Mayor Kristy McBain stepped down from her position as Mayor of Bega Valley and a casual vacancy for the Deputy Chair role arose.

At the CRJO Board Meeting of 13 May 2020, the Board resolved to defer the election of a Deputy Chairperson to the extraordinary Board meeting of 30 June 2020. An excerpt of the minutes from that meeting is included below:

11.11.Election of CRJO Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson 2020-2022**RESOLVED**

That the CRJO Board

- 1. Defer the election of a Deputy Chairperson to the extraordinary Board meeting of 30 June 2020.
- 2. Conduct the 2020-2022 CRJO Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson election via videoconferencing on Tuesday, 30 June 2020 at 9:00am via open vote.

Moved D. Gair / L. Innes

Carried

PROCESS FOR THE ELECTION OF JOINT ORGANISATION CHAIRPERSONS

Date of the Election

Schedule 7A – Election of the Chairpersons of Joint Organisation (the Schedule) on pages 18-20 of the Joint Organisation Implementation Guidance (NSW Government, May 2018) states that an election must be held "1.b. at the first meeting of the board after the term of the chairperson expires."

The term of the 2018-2020 Chairperson expires on 28 June 2020.

Reporting Officer

Part 2 of the Schedule states that the Returning Officer is to be:

- a. The executive officer of the joint organisation, or
- *b.* If there is no executive officer, the Departmental Chief Executive or a person appointed by the Departmental Chief Executive.

Notification of Vacancy

Part 3.1 of the Schedule outlines that "the returning officer must give notice of the occurrence of a vacancy in the office of chairperson of the joint organisation to the Chief Executive (Office of Local Government) ... and to the General Managers of the member councils of the joint organisation". This is continued in part 3.2, which states, "the returning officer is to do that within seven days of the occurrence of the vacancy."

As the vacancy of the current Chairperson concludes two days prior to the election, the CRJO will write to the Chief Executive, Office of Local Government (OLG) with the notification of vacancy and the announcement of the newly elected Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson. OLG advised that the above notification requirements do not apply to the deputy chairperson vacancy.

Nomination & Election

Mayors of member councils may be nominated, in writing, by the two or more mayors of member councils of the joint organisation. The nominee may also be the nominating mayor. The returning officer will announce the names at the board meeting at which the election is to be held.

Nominations have previously been called for but will be received up until and including the item at the meeting at which the election of the Chairperson occurs.

Upon election, the Chair will assume the Chair and preside at the meeting.

Details of the election process are contained in attachment 4.1.3.

Voting representatives for the Board are the Mayors of the Member Councils as listed in the CRJO Charter. These are:

COUNCIL	MAYOR
Bega Valley Shire Council	Cr Sharon Tapscott
Eurobodalla Shire Council	Cr Liz Innes
Goulburn Mulwaree Council	Cr Bob Kirk
Hilltops Council	Cr Brian Ingram
Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council	Cr Tim Overall
Snowy Monaro Regional Council	Cr Peter Beer
Snowy Valleys Council	Cr James Hayes OAM
Upper Lachlan Shire Council	Cr John Stafford
Wingecarribee Shire Council	Cr Duncan Gair
Yass Valley Council	Cr Rowena Abbey

5. Confidential Matters

The CRJO Board must resolve to move into Closed Session to deal with any items under s10 Local Government Act 1993.

RECOMMENDATION

That the CRJO Board considers the confidential reports listed below in a meeting closed to the public in accordance with Section 10A (2) of the Local Government Act 1993:

(a) Personnel matters concerning particular individuals (other than councillors)

5.1. Appointment of Executive Officer

To be circulated under separate cover.

5.2. Consultancy Role

To be circulated under separate cover.

6. Close

The Chairperson will close the meeting.